• Duck Creek

Local Things To Do With Scouts

Things to do with Scouts:

Download list: things-for-units-to-do-nearby.pdf

 1. SeaWorld, San Antonio https://seaworld.com/san-antonio/educational-programs/group-camps/

2. Fossil Rim, Glen Rose https://fossilrim.org/camps/

3. U.S.S. Lexington, Corpus Christi https://usslexington.com/learn/overnight-camping/

4. Texas State Aquarium, Corpus Christi https://www.texasstateaquarium.org/educate/overnight-visits/

5. Space Center Houston https://spacecenter.org/education-programs/overnight-experiences/

6. Dallas Zoo https://www.dallaszoo.com/education/night-programs/

7. Houston Museum of Natural Science http://www.hmns.org/education/spend-the-night-at-hmns/scout-overnights/

8. Airhogs Baseball Game at Quik Trip Park, Grand Prairie http://www.airhogsbaseball.com/

9. U.S.S. Stewart Submarine https://www.galvestonnavalmuseum.com/

10. Pioneer Farms, Austin https://www.pioneerfarms.org/shop-scouting-programs

 11. Dallas Heritage Village, Dallas http://www.dallasheritagevillage.org/programs/childrens-programs/boy-scout-programs

12. Dallas Arboretum, Dallas https://www.dallasarboretum.org/education/family-programs/

13. Perot Museum, Dallas https://www.perotmuseum.org/programs-and-events/children-and-teens/scouting-adventures/cub-scouts/index.html

14. Spark Adventures in Creativity, Dallas https://sparkdallas.org/scouts/

15. Legoland Discovery Center, Grapevine https://dallasfw.legolanddiscoverycenter.com/groups-schools/scouts/

16. Frontiers of Flight Museum, Love Field, Dallas https://www.flightmuseum.com/scout-programs/

17. Heard Natural Science Museum, McKinney http://www.heardmuseum.org/scouting

18. Circle Ten Camps are free for Units if https://www.olivernaturepark.com/scout-programs

19. Blackland Prairie Raptor Center, Lucas https://bpraptorcenter.org/programs/

20. The Movie Studios at Las Colinas, Irving https://crmstudios.com/facilities/dallas/

21. Jack Harbin Scout Museum at Camp Wisdom, Dallas

22. City Services tours: Fire Stations, Police Stations, Water Treatment, Recycling, Solid Waste http://www.garlandenvironmentalwaste.com/gov/eg/ews/outreach.asp

23. Samurai Museum, Dallas http://samuraicollection.org

24.  Local gaming Companies: Gearbox, Plano http://www.gearboxsoftware.com/;

            ID Software, Richardson, https://www.idsoftware.com/en-us#section-dallas

 

There are a multitude of State Parks within 2-3 hours of us. Cooper Lake, Bonham, Caddo Mills,

Etc State Park Youth Group Annual Pass

https://tpwd.texas.gov/state-parks/park-information/passes/sppass-faq

The Youth Group Annual Pass allows free entry to state parks for nonprofit youth group members and a reasonable number of adult sponsors. The pass costs $100 and is valid for one year. Up to a total of 50 kids and sponsors can enter the park with the pass.

To purchase, you must show proof of nonprofit status and certify that your group serves children ages 13 to 17. To apply for the pass, download an application and submit:  

https://tpwd.texas.gov/state-parks/park-information/passes/park_pass_documents/pwd-1338-p4000

 

Others:

Sycamore Bend Park - 1301-1311 Sycamore Bend Rd, Hickory Creek, TX 75065

Hidden Cove Park - 20400 Hackberry Creek Park Rd, Frisco, TX 75034

Little Elm Park - 701 W Eldorado Pkwy, Little Elm, TX 75068 (usually pretty busy)

Ray Roberts Lake State Park - 100 P W 4137, Pilot Point, TX 76258

Juniper Point Trailhead - 32843 US-377, Gordonville, TX 76245 (Great for hiking)

Erwin Park - McKinney, TX 75071 (reservations need to be made in advance--super busy)

 

Dallas-area Parks & Recreation spaces,List courtesy of the North Texas Master Naturalists

ntmn-get-outside-poster.pdf

22-dallas-area-parks-for-the-naturalist-brochure-7-16-18.pdf